Tuesday, January 23

capes reunion...

So I should have posted this sooner but we had a mini-manitoba Capernwray reunion a while back. Ty, Karalee, and Chris were able to make it down to my place. We fried up some burgers and sat in the hot tub, reminiscing about the good times we had at capes and the things that we learned and how and what we were doing now. It definately was a good time and we will have have to do it again soon. I totally forgot to take pictures, I guess I was so engrossed in our game of dutch blitz trying to work my way out of the negatives all game.



Adrian, Andrew, my uncle Dylan, my dad and I did some kite boarding. We had one good day of winds and one day of pretty poor wind. But Adrian and Andrew are in Cuba right now enjoying the sun and warmth and doing some kiteboarding on the ocean. Lucky bums.


















Anyways not much else to report here except that January is almost over and you know what that means... that's right February is almost here. Whats so exciting about February I don't know but I'm sure there will be some wicked awesome classes at the University of Manitoba, and some intruiging textbooks to read. woot woot.

Thursday, January 11


We took unofficial family pictures this Christmas after my mom had bugged us enough. It's not that I don't like taking family pictures, it's just that we don't have somebody to take them for us so suddenly we have five people trying to line up the subjcts and get the angle and lighting right, when none of us really knows how it should be done. And it doesn't help that our tripod is from World War II. So this is us, all in our places with smiles on our faces and at least everybody's eyes are open. I'm making it sound really bad but it was actually kind of fun seeing what kinds of fun pictures we could come up with. I think this was Adrian's idea for a shot and I'd say it was the best one.

Friday, January 5

To the Island and Back Again



Last week was an amazing time with new and old friends on Vancouver island. Joel and I left on Christmas day, cheap flights to blame for that, and we were supposed to arrive in Comox that evening. Our flight got delayed from Calgary to Vancouver and we missed our connecting flight from Vancouver to Comox. But we got a free hotel room and between the two of us we got sixty-eight dollars to spend on food. But because it was Christmas day, unfortunately most restauraunts outside the airports were closed so we only got to have supper in Calgary. And it was good, except for the blue cheese burger that Joel ordered. The next day we got a flight that left Vancouver at 8:30 for Comox so all in all it wasn't too bad. The first few nights we stayed at the Bowers' place and had an amazing time. We did some fun stuff with fun people like tubing, constellation creating and trying to figure out the dynamics of the shadow on the moon. And Lindsay learned how to spell her name "Linds" not "Linbs".















Joel and I got to go snowboarding up to Mt. Washington and got two days of terribley good weather. It was fun to board with the Bowers and have them show us around the mountain.














The next few nights we stayed at the Jacobson's and had some good relaxing time hanging out and we got to go to the Langdales for some good times and pie. Jen, Joel and I also had the privaledge of taking Kaylee(?) for a walk/multiple bathroom breaks. Our trip definately was a fun one and we got to meet old freinds and make new ones and enjoy what the island has to offer.



The day we left we got to go to Resonate church with the Jacobsons. It is always encouraging and being there and this Sunday they wrapped up their series on Ephesians by reading the entire book. A couple passages really stuck out to me but Chapter three verse twenty really hit me were it says God can do abundantly beyond all we ask or think. That is incredible. I havn't even thought of all the good things God can do. Even when I think I know what would be best, God knows whats even better than my best.



Then on Wednesday Niki left for Capernwray in Texas so we got to hang out one last time on Tuesday doing some Christmas returns and exchanges. I was determined to try to get a pair of jeans (trying on clothes is not my strength) but after making the critical mistake of only taking one pair into the changeroom, I realized I was screwed so I gave up after that one and settled for some board shorts.






Then on Wednesday Joel, Josiah, Trevor, Simon, Darrick and I went snowboarding to Frosty. Things started off well with a grouchy boarder crosser agent women. I could tell one smart answer from us and we would be in the "garage" watching the van get ripped apart so we were very polite. Boarding was fun till things starting melting and sucking. Mainly the snow did the melting and I did the sucking. Josiah nailed a gap to front board and Joel landed a nice grabbed three.























And then University started Thursday... Agh. It's over.

Tuesday, December 19

Tonight I had my last exam which was probably the simpelist exam I have ever taken in my entire accademic life. Here's a quick sampling of the questions see how you do:

1. Draw a shape that has 5 symmetries.

2. Draw a coffee mug changing into a mask in three steps.

3. Write the first ten numbers of the Fibonacci sequence. (ie. 1,1,2,3,5,8,13... just pick a number and add the one before it to get the next one)

4. How are math and art related?

If you answered these questions correctly you passed the exam because it was only out of seven questions. So after that i hurried home for our college and careers Mexican Christmas party. Somehow I was dumb enough to forget my camera but i snagged a couple pictures when I got home. So tell me I'm not dressed up like a Mexican, oh well, the spanish stache is the clincher. And the shades are thanks to Gully, all the way out on the island. Adrian dressed up like Nachoooooooooooooooooooooooo! I wish I would have got a picture of him he looked pretty impressive.





















Less then a week and Joel and I head out to BC to visit freinds and hopefully get some snowboarding and surfing in. Apparently the mountain is getting dumped on a fair bit, so, ya I'm getting giddy.

Wednesday, December 13


Today right before my exam instead of craming till the last minute, my brother and I went kiteboarding. I hope it will pay off. Adrian has a couple kites and today he pulled out the biggest one and let me fly it. I was a little scared that I would suffer the same fate as piglet in that winnie the pooh cartoon where he blows away or something. Fortunately that didn't happen and we had a pretty fun time. It was a good warm-up for the boarding season but I can't wait for the snow to seriously fall and we can start hitting the "mountains"/hills/floodway banks/lumps, around here.



Thursday, December 7

Joel you are a hero for finding this video. whoa man. I don't usually endorse crap like this, but this one is too funny.

Wednesday, November 1

So after playing hide and seek with us a few weeks the snow has been found and by the looks of things is here to stay. The ground is covered, the temperatures are below zero and the roads are icy. That means that in only a little while there will be ice on the outdoor rink. The rink is a place that brings up so many memories of fun, and frozen toes and fingers. One time when I was younger, we stayed on the ice for a couple hours when it was probably around minus twenty. It wasn't that it was rediculously cold but I guess by being out there so long, somehow both my big toes froze solid. And the bad thing about freezing toes is that you don't notice it at all. It's like a silent killer. Only after you take your skates off and start to walk home you realize that you can't feel your toes and then when you get home the pain sets in. My toes swelled up and blistered so bad. I couldn't put my skates on anymore and I was determined to go to hockey practice the next day so I used my brothers skates because there was a little more room in the front for my swollen toes. Bad move. I shouldn't have gone to hockey that day, it hurt so bad. But my toes don't freeze as easy anymore, I guess it was like conditioning and a step in becoming a real Canadian prairie boy. Whenever winter roles around and I think about the outdoor rink, I think about that book that we always read at school, "The Hockey Sweater" by Roch Carrier. I know it's about the Canadians, but the little boy and I have some things in common, hockey is like our escape from school, and we both dislike the Maple Leafs.


But not much has been going on around here lately. The Franklin Graham festival has come and gone and it was pretty neat to go and here the truth about Christ from a pretty famous guy and hear some bands that proclaimed the same message. And to hear stories from people that accepted the life that Christ has to offer, for the first time, was pretty encouraging. University has been going well, it's a lot of work to stay on top of things but for the most part I enjoy it. It's fun to meet new people and make new friends. Coming into University I thought it would be just like a mall and nobody really cares about anybody, and it is to some degree, but I guess everyone is in the same boat so it's fun to step out and talk to people and get to know them and see how they react. Some people put on that look like "hey loser, why are you bothering me?" but most people are open to talk and thats been fun. And I found this crazy big fish, turtle and dinosaur at school! I thought it was worth a picture. It has nothing to do with anything really I guess. I know I havn't posted in a while so sorry to you who actually check this thing the odd time. Have a nice day.